Board recognized by state association
Board honored with state award
Posted on 06/25/2019
PPI logoBoard accepts award

(Left to right) MSBA Executive Director Melissa Randol, FZSD Board of Education VP Erica Powers, FZSD Board of Education President Mike Swaringim, FZSD Board of Education member John Callahan, MSBA President Mike Pratte.

The Fort Zumwalt School District Board of Education was among only 33 Missouri school boards to receive the Missouri School Boards’ Association’s 2019 Governance Team Award. This prestigious award is based on those school boards’ outstanding commitment to ongoing professional development in areas such as student achievement, school law and finance, board operations and contemporary issues in education. The award also recognizes their commitment to regional and statewide leadership and to active participation in legislative advocacy for public schools and the students they serve. Qualifying boards had to meet the following criteria:

• All seven school board members in each awarded district have completed the Essential certification from MSBA.
• The district is fully accredited. 
• At least two board members in each awarded district have attained the Advanced level of certification from MSBA.
• At least one board member in each awarded district has attained the Master’s level of certification.
• At least a quorum of the board and the superintendent attended the 2018 MSBA Annual Conference and a regional meeting during the past year. 
• A representative attended the 2019 MSBA Legislative Forum. 
• Each awarded district had representative participation in MSBA’s Delegate Assembly.

The 2019 Governance Team Award winners were recognized June 8 during the MSBA Leadership Summit in St. Charles.