2020 National Merit recognitions
National Mer

Congratulations to Fort Zumwalt School District’s 2020 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. These five Fort Zumwalt seniors are among the top scorers on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) taken by more than 1 million high school juniors at more than 22,000 high schools across the nation. The semifinalists represent less than 1 percent of high school students and qualify to continue in the competition. Next spring, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will award about $35 million to roughly 8,000 graduating high school seniors. 

FZ National Merit Semi-Finalists are South High’s Malik Badwan, Maitreyi Bhagat and Hayden Karl and West High’s Hannah Rowland and Aarya Shah.

Congratulations as well to our National Merit Commended Scholars. These nine Fort Zumwalt seniors were recognized as among the top 5 percent of the students who took the PSAT/NMSQT. 

National Merit Commended Scholars are: Kyle Boyle, FZE; Alexis Gallagher, FZW; Brogan Haggerty, FZS; Tayin Hotmer, FZW; Colin Kehoe, FZE; Alyssa Listello, FZS; Joshua Perstrope, FZE; Jishnu Sivaprasad, FZS; and John Zlatic, FZE.