Celebrating our Educators & Employees of the Year
Congratulations to our 2019 Educator & Employee of the Year
Posted on 04/18/2019
PPI logo

Kelsie Ballmann, special education teacher at Rock Creek Elementary School, has been named the Fort Zumwalt School District Educator of the Year and Tony Perotti, facilities Maintenance II at East High School, has been named Fort Zumwalt School District Employee of the Year.
Nominated and selected by their peers, Ballmann and Perotti were each lauded as someone who goes above and beyond the call of their duties.

One of the first recipients of the Fort Zumwalt Education Foundation’s Grow Your Own Teacher award, Ballmann graduated from West High in 2008. She is in her seventh year as a teacher with the district, providing Intensive Language and Behavior Support. “From day one, Kelsie has spent countless hours researching the general education curriculum for every grade level and then modifying each subject area for every student she teaches,” one nomination form reads. Beyond the classroom, Ballmann works with students as the sponsor for both the Sign Language and SHARE clubs. 

Perotti also was recognized for the role he plays in the East High community.

“The level of care and passion that Tony puts into our outdoor facilities rivals only that of the passion a teacher would have for his/her classroom and students,” one nomination form for Perotti reads. Among the many nominations, a few things about Perotti continued to rise to the surface: his work ethic, his great attitude and the way students recognize and appreciate all he does for them.  

Congratulations to both of these outstanding Fort Zumwalt employees, and all of those those who were honored at the building level:

Early Childhood Center
Sarah Holmes, Early Childhood Special Education Teacher
JoAnn Hirtz, Secretary

Mike Clemens Center for Adaptive Learning
Rebekah Mundy, Special Education Teacher
Kathy Smith, Office Clerk

Art Orlando, Bus Driver

District Administrative Office
Lisa Bagheri, Payroll Secretary

East High
Brianne Russell, Science Teacher
Tony Perotti, Maintenance II

North High
Jeanee Lupo, Special Education Teacher
Darin Broadhage, Custodian

South High
Melinda DeShurley, Family and Consumer Science Teacher
Christina Byrth, Assistant Principal’s Secretary

West High
Mike Hayden, Math Teacher
Ken Marquis, Computer Technician

DuBray Middle
Kathy Fenske, Band Teacher
Laurie Young, Assistant Principal’s Secretary

North Middle
Bert Schultz, Counselor
Tom Micks, Paraprofessional

South Middle
Amy Smith, 6th Grade English Language Arts
John Moynihan, Custodian

West Middle
Rich Goodman, Music/Orchestra Teacher
Rhonda Dufour, Financial Secretary

Dardenne Elementary
Stacy Lessmann, 5th Grade Teacher
Oliva McGaugh, Social Worker

Emge Elementary
Andrea Binsbacher, 2nd Grade Teacher
Terri Schneider, Clinic Clerk

Flint Hill Elementary
Jessica Eusterbrock, 4th Grade Teacher
Cliff Lowe, Custodian

Forest Park Elementary
Jenni Day, 4th Grade Teacher
Kathleen Turner, Paraprofessional

Hawthorn Elementary
Kelly Bristol, Counselor
Athena Weakley, Paraprofessional

JL Mudd Elementary
Jeffrey Penfold, Special Education Teacher
Karen Myers, Copy Clerk

Lewis & Clark Elementary
Stacy Hanks, Special Education
Katy Grant, Office Clerk

Mid Rivers Elementary
Jen Kelder, Special Education
Karen Orr, Custodian

Mount Hope Elementary
Myra Frank, Art Teacher
Heather Wilson, Paraprofessional

Ostmann Elementary
Sharon Hudzinski, 1st Grade Teacher
Laura Volpe, Library Clerk

Pheasant Point Elementary
Erin Fletcher, Technology Teacher
Stephanie Binder, Bus Driver

Progress South Elementary
Jessica Carter, 4th Grade Teacher
Dianne Clark, Principal’s Secretary

Rock Creek Elementary
Kelsie Ballmann, Special Education Teacher
Karen Mues, Custodian

St. Peters Elementary
Jeanna McDermott, Kindergarten Teacher
Helen Zahner, Paraprofessional

Twin Chimneys Elementary
Lori Cronin, Kindergarten Teacher
Carolyn Yelich, Paraprofessional

Westhoff Elementary
Deb Teson, 2nd Grade Teacher
Jared Hamline, Custodian